# COUNCIL

## Thursday 19 May 2011

**COUNCILLORS PRESENT:** Councillors Benjamin (Lord Mayor), Armitage (Deputy Lord Mayor), Fooks (Sheriff), Abbasi, Altaf-Khan, Brett, Brown, Brundin, Campbell, Clarkson, Cook, Coulter, Darke, Goddard, Gotch, Hazell, Humberstone, Jones, Keen, Khan, Lygo, McCready, McManners, Mills, Pressel, Price, Rowley, Rundle, Sanders, Seamons, Sinclair, Smith, Tanner, Timbs, Turner, Van Nooijen, Williams, Wolff and Young.

### 1. ELECTION OF LORD MAYOR FOR THE COUNCIL YEAR 2011/12

Councillor Bob Price proposed and Councillor Sanders seconded, that there being no other nominations, Council resolved that Councillor Elise Benjamin be elected as Lord Mayor of Oxford for the Council Year 2011/12.

Councillor Benjamin took the chair from Councillor Goddard, then made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

# 2. ELECTION OF DEPUTY LORD MAYOR FOR THE COUNCIL YEAR 2011/12

Councillor Bob Price proposed and Councillor Mohammed Altaf-Khan seconded, and there being no other nominations, Council resolved that Councillor Alan Armitage be elected Deputy Lord Mayor of Oxford for the Council Year 2011/12.

Councillor Armitage then made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

#### 3. APPOINTMENT OF SHERIFF FOR THE COUNCIL YEAR 2011/12

Councillor Jim Campbell proposed and Councillor John Tanner seconded, and there being no other nominations, Council resolved to appoint Councillor Jean Fooks Sheriff of Oxford and Conservator of Port Meadow and city Fisheries for the Council Year 2011/12.

## 4. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE OUTGOING LORD MAYOR

Councillor Bob Price Proposed and Councillor Stephen Brown seconded a vote of thanks to the outgoing Lord Mayor, Councillor John Goddard, for his services as Lord Mayor of Oxford for the Council Year 2010/11

#### 5. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE OUTGOING SHERIFF

Councillor Dee Sinclair proposed and Councillor Stephen Brown seconded a vote of thanks to the outgoing Sheriff, Councillor Colin Cook, for his services as Sheriff of Oxford for the Council Year 2010/11.

#### 6. APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Antonia Bance, Sajjad Malik, Matthew Morton, Gwynneth Royce and Ruth Wilkinson.

#### 7. ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE LORD MAYOR

No announcements were made.

#### 8. ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE

No announcements were made.

#### 9. ELECTION OF LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL FOR THE COUNCIL YEAR 2011/12

Councillor Ed Turner proposed and Councillor Scott Seamons seconded, and there being no other nominations, Council resolved that Councillor bob Price be elected Leader of the Council for the Council Year 2011/12.

Councillor Bob Price then proposed and Councillor Bob Timbs seconded, and there being no other nominations, council resolved that Ed Turner be elected Deputy Leader of the Council for the Council Year 2011/12.

#### 10. APPOINTMENT OF CITY EXECUTIVE BOARD

Councillor Bob Price seconded by Councilor Ed Turner proposed, and there being no other propositions, Council resolved that a City Executive Board comprising of ten Members of Council be established for the Council Year 2011/12 and that the following Members of Council would be members of the Board:-

The Leader of the Council then announced the names and short descriptions of responsibilities of the City Executive Board Members as follows:-

Bob Price (Leader)	Corporate Governance and Strategic Partnerships
Ed Turner (Deputy Leader) Finance and Efficiency	
Antonia Bance	Stronger Communities
Colin Cook	City Development
Van Coulter	Leisure Services
Mark Lygo	Parks and Sports
Joe McManners	Housing Needs
Val Smith	Regeneration

John Tanner

Cleaner, Greener Oxford

Bob Timbs Crime and Community Safety

#### 11. APPOINTMENT OF DECISION-MAKING AND OTHER BODIES FOR THE COUNCIL YEAR 2011/12

The Head of Law and Governance submitted a report (previously circulated, now appended).

Council resolved:

- (a) To appoint a Standards Committee with powers and duties as set out in paragraph 7.8 of the Constitution and with membership as set out in the appendix to the signed copy of these minutes;
- (b) To appoint a Licensing Committee to discharge the responsibilities contained in the Licensing Act 2003 and the Gambling Act 2005, with powers and duties as set out in paragraphs 5.4 and 5.5 of the Constitution, and with a memberships as set out in the appendix to the signed copy of these minutes;
- (c) To appoint an Audit and Governance Committee, a General Purposes Licensing Committee, an Appointments Committee and a Disciplinary Committee for the Chief Executive, Directors and Heads of Service, with powers and duties as set out in Sections 5 and 7 of the Constitution, and with memberships as set out in the appendix to the signed copy of these minutes;
- (d) To appoint an East Area Planning Committee and a West Area Planning Committee to determine planning applications and discharge other responsibilities, and a Planning Review Committee to determine called in planning applications, with powers and duties as set out in paragraph 5.3 of the Constitution, and with memberships as set out in the appendix to the signed copy of these minutes;
- (e) To appoint a Communities and Partnership Scrutiny Committee and a Value and Performance Scrutiny Committee with powers and duties as set out in the Constitution, and with memberships as set out in the appendix to the signed copy of these minutes;
- (f) That all members of Council should constitute the pool of members from which an observer representative would be invited to observe at Appeals Panels into disciplinary sanctions or grievance decisions;
- (g) To appoint Councillor Susanna Pressel to the Oxfordshire Joint Health Overview and Scrutiny Committee;
- (h) To authorise the Head of Law and Governance making any changes to the Constitution in consequence of Council's decisions on committee appointments and powers and duties.

#### 12. SCHEME OF DELEGATION

Council resolved:

- (a) To re-affirm for the Council Year 2011/12 the Council's Scheme of Delegation as set out in Section 5 of the Constitution;
- (b) To note the Executive's Scheme of Delegations as set out in Section 4 of the Constitution.

The meeting started at 4.00 pm and ended at 6.20 pm